University Accreditation

California State University, Fullerton (CSUF) was initially accredited by  Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) - Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) Opens in new window in 1961. The most recent WSCUC review took place in 2019, which granted CSUF reaffirmation for a full and maximum 10-year period. To learn more, read CSUF's accreditation history.

The WASC Senior College and University Commission ("the Commission") is an accrediting agency serving a diverse membership of public and private higher education institutions throughout California, Hawaii, and the Pacific as well as a limited number of institutions outside the U.S. Through its work of peer review, based on standards agreed to by the membership, the Commission encourages continuous institutional improvement, and assures the membership and its constituencies (including the public) that accredited institutions are fulfilling their missions in service to their students and the public good.

WSCUC is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as certifying institutional eligibility for federal funding in a number of programs, including student access to federal financial aid. In other words, accreditation is necessary for participation in federal and state financial aid programs. Accreditation also is important for the acceptance and transfer of college credit, is a prerequisite for student application for many graduate programs, and is often an eligibility requirement for research grant programs.

Accreditation is periodically reaffirmed through a comprehensive review process that includes an institutional self-study that results in a comprehensive Institutional Report, an external review by colleagues from peer institutions, and a site visit at least once every ten years.

CSUF’s WSCUC Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO) is Dr. Su Swarat, Senior Associate Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness and Planning. Please contact the ALO for all accreditation-related questions at

2012 Reaffirmation of Accreditation

Institutional report (2007)


Capacity and preparatory review (CPR) (2009)


Educational Effectiveness Review (EER)